top of page

Things I Like: Dry Shampoo


Dry shampoo is a girl’s best friend, am I right? Unless you’re one of those people who’s blessed with the ability to wash your hair once or twice a week OR you have the time to wash, dry and style it every day, and in either case I’m jealous.

I’ve been a dry shampoo devotee since college, mostly out of laziness. My hair used to be ringlet-curly, and now it’s straight enough that I can’t do it curly without effort and wavy enough that I can’t do it straight without effort. So I typically wash my hair every other night, sleep on it, wake up to bedhead extreme, straighten it, and go on my merry way. The next morning, it’s typically a little, ahem, less than clean. Sometimes a lot less (I blame my grabby children, although I had this problem before they existed so…). Enter the dry shampoo.

If Sephora (or CVS, for that matter) sells it, I have probably tried it. Some absorb the grease and leave a nice little white residue. Some have actually made my hair greasier. I recently discovered Elizabeth and James dry shampoo (which my savvy sister tells me is Mary Kate and Ashley Olsen’s brand?!) through Cup of Jo, and I bought the Nirvana Black scent.

Angels rejoice, it is hands-down the best dry shampoo I’ve ever tried! It absorbs the grease, doesn’t leave a residue, and my hair actually looks like it does on Clean Hair Day. My only qualm is the scent, which is fairly powerful and I’m an anti-perfume person (unless it’s my essential oils), but it seems to subside drastically as the day goes on. The price could also be a little bit more pocketbook-friendly, at $28 for 4.4 ounces, but if it saves me time and aids in helping me look somewhat presentable, I’m in.

Get you some! Purchased here, of course.

Featured Posts 
Find Me On
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Pinterest - Grey Circle
Favorite Reads
Search By Tags
Archives
bottom of page