top of page

A Summer Plan: Food


Food is a big part of our summer plan.

Here is my reference list for what to feed all these people who seem to need to be fed all the time (really though, how has the human species survived this long?). Hopefully it is helpful to you, or inspires you to make a plan, too!

BREAKFASTS:

cereal + banana

SNACKS / SIDES:

fresh fruit

dried fruit

carrots / cucumbers / grape tomatoes / mini bell peppers + hummus

celery + cream cheese

cheese sticks

tortilla chips

KID LUNCHES:

almond butter or cream cheese on a rice cake (these are our favorites, and they're nice and thin)

yogurt

Annie's mac and cheese (I make this once/week)

MY LUNCHES:

dinner leftovers

roasted veggie wraps w/ goat cheese + chickpeas

tomato sandwich

(I've also been making mini pizzas lately because something about the first trimester of pregnancy always makes my food tastes return to those of my youth. I split open an English muffin, toast it, add Rao's marinara and shredded mozzarella cheese, and broil it for a few minutes in the oven. The best part is that while my kids love pizza, they do not care for these, so no one asks to share my food! This meal will likely gross me out post-pregnancy, but I'm adding it here because it's a current staple.)

DINNER ROTATION:

(for more on this genius idea, read this post)

week 1 :

tacos

pasta with shrimp

BLTA

salmon

week 2:

quesadillas

pesto pasta

roasted/grilled veggie sandwiches (from this cookbook)

stuffed potatoes

week 3:

fajitas

orzo with grilled chicken and veggies

sandwiches

fish

I'm only planning four meals per week, since we do pizza takeout on Fridays, and weekends are usually something on the grill both nights if we're home—chicken, burgers, hot dogs, ribs.

I used this format for the first time last week to plan the week's meals and it was a cinch. It totally took the brainpower out of the meal planning process. Now the key is that we don't get sick of these meals this summer! Hoping I left enough leeway and room for modification—different kinds of sandwiches, tacos, pasta dishes, fish, etc. If not, maybe I need to add one more week's worth of meals. We'll see!

Do you have a plan for feeding your family? Is summer a particularly challenging time for meals in your household? Or maybe it's easier? I'd love to hear your thoughts!

Featured Posts 
Find Me On
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Pinterest - Grey Circle
Favorite Reads
Search By Tags
Archives
bottom of page