top of page

"How Was Your Day?"

"How was your day at school?"

If your child/children are in school of some kind, and they're old enough to report back on their day to you, do they? Or do they forget all that they did instantly upon arrival at home?

We have a mixed bag at our house.

I have a new trick up my sleeve that I thought I'd share, in case you can benefit from it, too. When my girls come home from school, lately I've been asking this question:

"How were your friends today?"

This instantly engages my girls in a conversation they're interested in having and unlocks all kinds of details from their days!

It's an entry point into: what kinds of activities they did, what they learned, what they ate for lunch, who they played with, and of course, how their friends are doing.

(an old picture from the girls on their school playground—that's a harness Mimi is holding and Eloise is the horse)

Let me know if you try it!

Featured Posts 
Find Me On
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Pinterest - Grey Circle
Favorite Reads
Search By Tags
Archives
bottom of page