top of page

Two Quick, DIY Tips for Healthy Hair

Using things that you probably already have in your kitchen!

I am quite the opposite of a DIY girl. If I can buy it, I will. I am ever grateful that I have a handy husband or we would be in hot water.

Winter + being perpetually overdue for a haircut + postpartum hair loss (just another thing no one tells you about before having a baby) has made for an unfortunate hair situation over here lately, and after doing some quick research, I decided to give a couple things a try.

HAIR DEEP CLEANER

Add 1 tsp baking soda into a palmful of shampoo, and shampoo and rinse as usual. This worked just as well as my favorite clarifying shampoo, which I haven't bought in forever because it's pricey for a tiny bottle. Results: hair is bouncier, more voluminous, and really clean! I would only do this about once a week (and even less frequently if you color your hair) to avoid overdrying.

HAIR RINSE

1/2 C apple cider vinegar (this kind) (aka my favorite condiment/health tonic/life hack)

1/2 C water

3 drops lavender essential oil

3 drops cedarwood essential oil

Combine all ingredients into a spray bottle and shake before using.

After shampooing, spray generously on wet hair. Yes, you will smell like apple cider vinegar, but as soon as your hair dries, the smell will be completely gone. Leave in for a couple minutes, then rinse.

This can be used 3x/week in place of your conditioner. I was wary of skipping conditioner, but it really did make my hair so soft and shiny, and it's also a great detangler.

Apple cider vinegar has so many benefits for hair--do some research! And cedarwood + lavender, too.

Both remedies took me about 3 minutes to put together, and I would say this is one DIY trick I can wholeheartedly endorse! If you give it a try I'd love to hear how you like it!

Featured Posts 
Find Me On
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Pinterest - Grey Circle
Favorite Reads
Search By Tags
Archives
bottom of page